Never Too Old

So, it is decided.  I will begin my gymnastics training again here in just a couple of weeks.  I’ve already mentioned that I want to start training at Woodward at Copper this summer, and I think getting back into a real gym with a real coach is a great way to start.

Are you kidding me??  You are 31 years old.

Well, you have a great argument there, self-doubting part of my brain, but I spent some time watching YouTube videos of adult gymnasts the other day, and I have rarely been more inspired.  I saw a 41-year-old doing level 7/8 tumbling (that’s 7/8 out of 10, so, pretty darn good).  I saw a 23-year-old who hadn’t trained since she was 11 doing level 10 beam work.  I saw a 31-year-old who had never taken gymnastics before progress from barely being able to do a forward roll to doing cartwheels on the beam.  All of the videos were impressive, and they gave me some significant information.

First of all, having fun is the most important thing.  None of these people were attempting to be competitive–they were just participating in an activity that looked appealing to them.  Secondly, we are all capable of doing so much more than we think we are.  Our bodies certainly have limits, but I’m tired of saying things like “I’m too old to do _______ anymore” or “it’s too late for me to learn something new.”  Those are lame excuses to continue being frustrated with life.

It ends here.  Time to get back out there and push myself to some physical limits.  Who knows, I might gain some confidence in the meantime.  I’ll certainly gain flexibility and strength.  I’ll keep everyone updated on my progress.  At the very least, it will be fun for me and entertaining for you.

It’s never too late.  I’m sure of this.

2 thoughts on “Never Too Old

Talk to me...

